RSS

I now exist in the land of the living by…

13 Apr

"Washington As Captain In The French And Indian War" by Junius Brutus Stearns

“As I have heard since my arriv’l at this place, a circumstantial acct. of my death and dying speech, I take this early oppertunity of contradicting both, and of assuring you that I now exist and appear in the land of the living by the miraculous care of Providence, that protected me beyond all human expectation; I had 4 Bullets through my Coat, and two Horses shot under me, and yet escaped unhurt.“ George Washington, Letter to John Augustine Washington, July 18, 1755

Source: The Writings of George Washington from the Original Manuscript Sources

Read: Bulletproof The French and Indian War: Account of a British Officer

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in Letters

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
