RSS

Few people know…

20 Apr

"Revolutionary War Harbor Scene" by Edgar Spier Cameron

“The reflection on my situation, and that of this Army, produces many an unhappy hour, when all around me are wrapped in sleep. Few people know the predicament we are in, on a thousand accounts; fewer, still, will believe, if any disaster happens to these lines, from what cause it flows. I have often thought, how much happier I should have been, if, instead of accepting the command under such circumstances, I had taken my musket on my shoulder and entered the ranks; or, if I could have justified the measure to posterity and my own conscience, had retired to the back country and lived in a wigwam. If I shall be able to rise superior to these and many other difficulties which might be enumerated, I shall most religiously believe that the finger of Providence is in it, to blind the eyes of our enemies; for, surely, if we get well through this month, it must be for want of their knowing the disadvantages we labour under.” George Washington, Letter to Joseph Reed, January 14,1776

Source: Letter from General Washington to Joseph Reed

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2012 in Letters

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
