RSS

I am a servant…

25 Apr

"Arousing The Minute Men" by John Ward Dunsmore

“For as I can conscientiously declare that I have no object in view incompatible with the Constitution, and the obvious interests of this Country, nor no earthly desire half as strong as that of returning to the walks of private life, so, of consequence I only wish whilst I am a Servant of the public, to know the Will of my masters, that I may govern myself accordingly.” George Washington

Source: George Washington’s letter to Edmund Pendleton, September 23, 1793

Read: The Return of the Public Servant

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Letters

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
